Starbucks just released this year’s holiday menu, so you’re eager to dig into a Cranberry Bliss Bar and the new Sugar Cookie Almond Milk Latte. But wait—do they contain wheat? If you have a gluten allergy or sensitivity, ordering can be a gamble without a little research. But luckily, we’ve done the work for you, and there are plenty of ways to eat and drink gluten-free at Starbucks. (Just note that Starbucks can’t guarantee that any unpackaged products are totally allergen-free because the baristas use shared equipment to store, prepare and serve drinks and food. If you have celiac disease, a heightened gluten sensitivity or a wheat allergy, take extra caution before you order, or visit starbucks.com/menu for detailed ingredient information.) Without further ado, here are some of our favorite gluten-free options.

gluten free at starbucks coffee

1. Gluten-Free Starbucks Coffee Drinks

Whether you like to keep it simple with a hot Pike Place or prefer fancying up your morning with a nitro cold brew, there are plenty of wheat-free java drinks on the menu. Just steer clear of the oat milk—Starbucks considers it a cereal that contains gluten.

  • Freshly Brewed Coffee (any roast)
  • Caffè Misto
  • Iced Coffee
  • Cold Brew
  • Cold Brew Latte
  • Nitro Cold Brew (with or without cold foam)
gluten free at starbucks espresso

2. Gluten-Free Starbucks Espresso Drinks

What’s your poison? A macchiato? A latte? Perhaps an Americano? You have a whole slew of options to choose from on the espresso front. As long as you don’t use oat milk, these plain espresso drinks are all viable gluten-free options, whether you get them hot or iced.

  • Americano
  • Flat White
  • Caffè Latte
  • Latte Macchiato
  • Espresso
  • Espresso con Panna
  • Cortado

3. Gluten-Free Starbucks Syrups and Sauces

Not to be confused with caramel syrup, the caramel drizzle is noted as containing gluten on a few gluten-free websites (though Starbucks’s beverage allergen information doesn’t disclose that). To be extra careful, avoid drinks that are topped with caramel drizzle (like the caramel macchiato) or ask for them sans-drizzle. (Those same GF sites will also tell you to avoid seasonal syrups and sauces, like the beloved pumpkin spice.) Other than that, these flavor syrups are virtually gluten-free and can be added to any coffee or latte.

  • Classic simple syrup
  • Vanilla flavor syrup
  • Sugar-free vanilla flavor syrup
  • Caramel flavor syrup
  • Sugar-free caramel flavor syrup
  • Hazelnut flavor syrup
  • Sugar-free hazelnut flavor syrup
  • Cinnamon dolce flavor syrup
  • Peach flavor syrup
  • Peppermint flavor syrup
  • Coconut flavor syrup
  • Mocha sauce
  • White mocha sauce

4. Gluten-Free Coffee-Free Drinks

If you’re in the mood for something warm and comforting without the caffeine kick, look no further than these gluten-free options.

  • White Hot Chocolate
  • Steamer (any milk but oat milk)
  • Caramel Apple Spice (without caramel drizzle)

5. Gluten-Free Starbucks Hot Teas

Nearly all the hot teas are free of wheat. Just don’t order the Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush or Lemon Ginger teas, as they’re reported to contain gluten.

  • Royal English Breakfast Black Tea
  • Royal English Breakfast Tea Latte
  • London Fog Tea Latte
  • Earl Grey Tea
  • Emperor’s Clouds & Mist Green Tea
  • Jade Citrus Mint Brewed Green Tea
  • Mint Majesty Herbal Tea
  • Peach Tranquility Herbal Tea
  • Chai Tea
  • Chai Tea Latte
  • Matcha Tea Latte

6. Gluten-Free Starbucks Iced Teas

Cool off with a thirst-quenching iced tea that will give you an energy boost that’s milder than coffee (unless you order a decaf herbal tea). Seasonal versions of these drinks, like the iced peach green tea or mango black tea, are also gluten-free.

  • Iced Black Tea (plain or mango)
  • Iced Green Tea (plain or peach)
  • Iced Passion Tango Tea
  • Iced Black Tea Lemonade (plain or mango)
  • Iced Green Tea Lemonade (plain or peach)
  • Iced Passion Tango Tea Lemonade
  • Iced Royal English Breakfast Tea Latte
  • Iced London Fog Tea Latte
  • Iced Chai Tea Latte
  • Iced Matcha Tea Latte
  • Iced Matcha Lemonade

7. Gluten-Free Starbucks Refreshers

We *love* refreshers, since they’re made with green coffee extract, which infuses the drinks with just a touch of caffeine. You can also substitute the water in the refreshers with lemonade if you’d prefer, and the drink will still be gluten-free.

  • Very Berry Hibiscus Refresher
  • Very Berry Hibiscus Lemonade
  • Mango Dragonfruit Refresher
  • Mango Dragonfruit Lemonade
  • Strawberry Açaí Refresher
  • Strawberry Açaí Lemonade
  • Kiwi Starfruit Refresher
  • Kiwi Starfruit Lemonade
  • Pink Drink
  • Violet Drink
  • Dragon Drink
  • Star Drink

8. Gluten-Free Starbucks Coffee Frappuccinos

You can always indulge in your favorite blended coffee drinks when a craving strikes. Just avoid the Java Chip Frappuccino, because the java chips contain wheat.

  • Coffee Frappuccino (regular or light)
  • Espresso Frappuccino (regular or light)
  • Caffè Vanilla Frappuccino (regular or light)
  • Caramel Frappucino (regular or light; no caramel drizzle)
  • Mocha Frappuccino (regular or light)
  • White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino

9. Gluten-Free Starbucks Creme Frappuccinos

For those of you who prefer your Frapps coffee-free, you’ve got all kinds of options. Just steer clear of the Double Chocolaty Chip number, since it’s made with java chips.

  • Vanilla Bean Crème Frappuccino
  • Strawberry Crème Frappuccino
  • Chai Crème Frappuccino
  • Matcha Crème Frappuccino
  • White Chocolate Crème Frappuccino

10. Gluten-Free Starbucks Foods

According to a Starbucks rep, treats that are labeled gluten-free are produced in the same facility as their other packaged products, but in a separate room to prevent cross-contamination. There aren’t many to choose from (though many stores have varying gluten-free snacks from non-Starbucks brands available by the register) but try one of the below if you need something to eat.

  • Marshmallow Dream Bar
  • Gluten-Free Chocolate Brownie (select locations)
  • Chicken & Quinoa Protein Bowl with Black Beans and Greens (note that this item isn’t certified gluten-free, but it doesn’t contain any added gluten)
  • Egg Bites (see above note)